| Tita TV, A Fresh Look into the Yerba Mate and Cancer Issue. I’ve been drinking mate for over three years now and I’ve never felt better. Some good brands that come to mind include: Another thing to take into consideration is your water temperature. This site uses affiliate links for certain products and receives a small commission (at no cost to you) whenever you purchase a product. All Right Reserved. Yerba mate is linked with an increased risk of esophageal cancer, kidney cancer, stomach cancer, bladder cancer, cervical cancer, prostate cancer, lung cancer, and possibly laryngeal or mouth cancer. This content does not have an Arabic version. Drinking coffee, mate, and very hot beverages. Whether you dislike the taste, are trying to cut back on caffeine or just want something new, here are 9 delicious alternatives to coffee you should…. Now to clarify, none of this is to say PAH is safe or healthy. by David Heber, George L. Blackburn, et. Other lifestyle factors such as obesity and diet may also play a role, which leads me to my next point…. Though potentially beneficial for the body, research shows that excessive use of yerba mate over a prolonged amount of time is linked to a number of cancers. Yerba mate is grown primarily for the use in the production of tea (yerba mate tea) or cold beverage, while being obtained from the South American native Ilex paraguariensis plant. Although mate is an ancient Guaraní beverage, the plant was first cultivated by Jesuit missionaries. Scientists discovered that in vitro cancer cells died when exposed to the bioactive compounds present in one cup of the beverage. My name is Darren. Since then, I knew I had to spread the word. The leaves and twigs of the yerba mate plant are dried, typically over a fire, and steeped in hot water to make an herbal tea. (Tobacco smoke and grilled meat also contain PAHs.). Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/videos/is-yerba-mate-tea-bad-for-you/ and I’ll try to answer it!