Position your next smallest wedge and trace just the curved line at the top. Do the same of each subsequent pie wedge. As the colors meet in the middle, they will mix into a mid-tone. Although everyone's work will be unique the radial design will be unified because everyone will be following the same directions, experimenting with the same types of lines in each section and using the same color palette. Here's what liquid watercolors look like on different papers. Trace your largest pie wedge on to a piece of thick watercolor paper. Each group will be given an 18" x 18" square of black construction paper. Wondering where to buy supplies for all the fantastic projects you find here? Watercolor Basics Tutorial for the Absolute Beginner. When you’re an absolute beginner, figuring out the basics of watercolor can be quite daunting. For more of my art lessons on radial balance and rotational symmetry, infusing mathematics and art, please click here. Plus, they don’t leave behind a tacky residue like some oval-pan watercolors do. When you are done your black square should be divided into eight wedges and all the folds should cross in the middle. Stamp the birds in black on a watercolor paper scrap and allow to dry before adding liquid watercolors. Do not use a water based marker. Whether it’s a background or little images, there’s nothing that doesn’t I don’t like about watercoloring. Like The Helpful Art Teacher on FaceBook for blog updates, interesting photos, videos and fun art related links. Adhere this panel to the card front with double sided foam tape. The color left over is blue. I will be the first to admit that I LOVE liquid watercolors! Stack your pie wedges in order with the largest on the bottom matching them at the point. I have recently started painting with liquid watercolors and am having a wonderful time! For this lesson I decided to use magenta instead of red. The background of the last section will be black. Liquid Watercolors Tutorial: Radial Balance